The Advanced Battery Materials Research (BMR) Program within the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) comprises seven research tasks aimed at the development of advanced batteries for Electric Vehicles. The new name reflects the materials focus of the program and further differentiates it from other programs within the Office of Vehicle Technologies.

Prof. Austen Angell: In Memoriam

It is with the utmost sadness that we announce to the DOE Battery Research Community that our good friend, dear colleague, and outstanding scientist Professor Austen Angell passed away on Friday, March 12. Austen was an extremely collegial and highly influential scientist, an intellectual giant, and a scientific hero to all of us, in addition to being just an incredibly warm and wonderful human being. His contribution to battery materials and chemistries includes the breakthrough concept of “polymer-in-salt” electrolyte, which serves as the ancestor of the modern super-concentrated electrolytes for Li-metal batteries, and the development of advanced electrolytes such as sulfones and LiBOB. He also educated numerous young scientists who are now major players in various DOE programs. He will be forever missed.